Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is composed of nine members appointed by the City Council who serve staggered three-year terms running from April 1 through March 31. It is a quasi-judicial committee that makes land use decisions in the City and makes recommendations to the City Council. The Commission also hears and makes recommendations to the City Council regarding Urban Renewal Applications. The Commission meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Hermiston City Hall.

Position Member Name Term Expires
Position #1 Tami Rebman March 31, 2019
Position #2 Philip Hamm March 31, 2019
Position #3 Ben Doherty March 31, 2019
Position #4 Moses Frederic March 31, 2020
Position #5 Kathryn Erz March 31, 2020
Position #6 Dean Fialka March 31, 2020
Position #7 Carleen Flaiz March 31, 2018
Position #8 Margaret E. Saylor (Chair) March 31, 2018
Position #9 Derek Caplinger March 31, 2018

See also:

Apply for any Committee, Board, or Commission by:

Filling out an application and returning it to City Recorder Lilly Alarcon-Strong at City Hall or by email at 

Applications can be found at City Hall or download one HERE.